Library News

Libraries Transform Book Pick logo

Libraries Transform Book Pick: After the Flood

Our library is joining public libraries nationwide in a new digital reading program, the Libraries Transform Book Pick, which offers access to the same ebook for a two-week period. The first ebook selection is the newly released title After the Flood by Kassandra Montag, published by William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers.

After the Flood will be available with unlimited access October 7 — 21, 2019 through our OverDrive collection. You will only need a library card and either the Libby app or a Kindle device to download a free copy of the ebook. There will be no waitlists or holds for the digital copies of this title during that period.

After the Flood is an inventive and riveting climate fiction saga from a promising new author. In a starred review, Booklist states, “Montag’s thrilling debut takes place in a future climate-change-altered world overrun by water. Anchored by a complicated, compelling heroine, this gripping, speculative, high-seas adventure is impossible to put down.” And Karin Slaughter, international bestselling author of “The Last Widow,” calls Montag “a visionary new talent!”

The Libraries Transform Book Pick is brought to you by the American Library Association and OverDrive. For additional information about the program and ebook and additional resources like a discussion guide, please visit ilovelibraries.org/libraries-transform-book-pick.

Already finished After the Flood and ready for more? Check out these read-alikes:

Book cover of American War by Omar El AkkadBook coverBook coverBook coverBook coverBook coverBook coverBook coverBook coverBook coverBook cover

Photograph from the 1937 flood depicting hundreds of damaged books on the steps of the old Carnegie Library in Jeffersonville

New digitization project underway

We are proud to announce the commencement of a new oral history digitization project, running from now until April 30, 2020. At the end of the project, researchers and genealogists around the world will have free online access to audio recordings of interviews with people who lived through the most terrifying chapter of Jeffersonville’s history, the Great Flood of 1937.

Each interview was recorded on audio cassette in 1984. The digitization project includes interviews with approximately 35 Jeffersonville residents, as well as interviews with workers from Quartermaster Depot and a rediscovered interview about the concrete industry in Indiana.

You can read more about the project in an article from the October 1, 2019 edition of the News and Tribune, which features interviews with our Genealogy and Local History Librarian Diane Stepro and Digitization Technician Eden Kuhlenschmidt.

This project was made possible by a grant from the Institute for Library and Museum Services, administered by the Indiana State Library.

Browse the full collection of magazine titles